Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s tranquil in my living room this morning.  All is quiet.  Anna and Eden are sleeping peacefully, and I’ve watched the world slowly, gently light up from the morning sun.  And although there is no noise around me, my heart is exploding on the inside.  As I’m filled with worship, repentance, adoration, pain, sympathy for the hurting, there is anything but hushed solitude within me.

We got back to Shanghai last week, and this Sunday was our first day back at church.  I learned there, that a couple we met at the youth retreat last fall found a lump on their one-year old daughter’s leg.  They were told that she has a rare and life-threatening form of cancer, and for the last several months, they’ve been back in New York where they’re from, and she’s been undergoing chemotherapy.

I don’t have the words for how I felt inside when I heard this, how I still feel.  I hardly know them, but I weep for them.  We’re told in Romans 12:15 to “rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.”  Again, in 1 Peter 3:8, we read “Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble.”  As I think of the pain, the fear, the exhausting difficulty of the day-to-day, I feel those verses.

This morning, I’ve cried out to God for their daughter and for them.  I’ve worshiped the God who is both sovereign and good, and I have repented of pride, of self pity, of selfishness, of ingratitude.  I have been moved by God’s grace, his saving and preserving grace.  I’ve been moved this morning by the bigness of who He is, and yet His intimate care for what is happening here, on this little pebble called Earth.  “For thus says the One who is high and lifted up, who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: “I dwell in the high and holy place, and also with him who is of a contrite and lowly spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly, and to revive the heart of the contrite.” Isaiah 57:15

Below are several links that I hope you’ll take time to check out.  The first one is to the page where you can read the story of the family I mentioned above, follow the progress through their journal, and write words of encouragement in their guestbook.  The next one is to a donation page where you can give toward their daughter’s medical costs if you feel led.  The next two links are to blog posts that have greatly contributed to my worship of Jesus this morning.

The Gong’s Caring Bridge site, where you can read their story and journal.

Give to the Gongs here.

Blog post #1:  Ann Voskamp’s “How to Really Live”

Blog post #2:  John Piper’s “An Olympic Lesson in God’s Omnipotence”

